new noise

launch new noise radio

home | about | gigs/news | education | repertoire | NNL records


new noise
Janey Miller
Joby Burgess

Cross Talk

about new noise: Cross Talk

Cross Talk, was first presented in London, Liverpool and Nottingham in May 2008; bringing together some of the best known performers from the world of new music, to perform seminal works by three of the most influential composers of the late 20th Century, alongside new music from some of the most exciting young composers working today.

Cross Talk's expanded line-up came from Karlheinz Stockhausen’s 1950’s classic and rarely performed ‘Kreuzspiel’, originally programmed to celebrate the pioneering composers 80th birthday. New Noise was joined by Richard Haynes bass clarinet, Helen Reid piano, Richard Benjafield and Scott Wilson percussion and long-time collaborator Matthew Fairclough sound design.

Two new works were commissioned for the programme; 'Grab' from Edinburgh based sound artist Martin Parker (funded by the PRS Foundation) and 'Fold' from Donnacha Dennehy, artistic director and founder of Dublin’s Crash Ensemble (funded by the Arts Council of Ireland).

Okho Iannis Xenakis

Clark Nova Pedro Gómez Egaña

Four Organs Steve Reich


Kreuzspiel Karlheinz Stockhausen

Grab (world premiere) Martin Parker

Fold (world premiere) Donnacha Dennehy

Cross Talk was rehearsed at Snape in Suffolk, as a residency funded by Aldeburgh Music.  The tour was made possible with support from Arts Council England, Holst Foundation and Hinrichsen Foundation.


See also:
new noise | Janey Miller | Joby Burgess

‘Cross Talk is the title of Joby Burgess and Janey Miller’s project to expand their New Noise duo and, for once, a funky name bore a meaningful resemblance to the music presented. Xenakis, Reich and Stockhausen – all composers with crossover appeal and influence – provided the scaffolding.’
Tim Rutherford-Johnson, Musical Pointers; May 2008

‘Iannis Xenakis’ Okho, was an excellent ‘overture’, setting a tone of energetic enthusiasm that lasted throughout the concert.  Grab, by Martin Parker, was the highpoint … the trio effectively became a sextet, with the computer semi-randomly sampling and manipulating each instrumentalist’s contribution to create another three voices… producing some disturbing dialogue reminiscent of passages from Berio’s Visage … performed with considerable flair.’

David Bignell, Classical Source; May 2008

‘Four Organs by Steve Reich was one of the highlights of this concert.  Skillfully led by Burgess, this was a highly accomplished performance with impressive stamina from all the players.  Pedro Gómez Egaña’s Clark Nova included a beautifully played and expressive oboe solo … New Noise deserve the highest praise for their innovative work and excellent standards of performance.’

Carla Rees, Seen and Heard; May 2008

‘Some Irish stardust, in the shape of Donnacha Dennehy's specially commissioned Fold, rounded off a multi-faceted programme from the augmented New Noise duo.’

Peter Palmer, Nottingham Evening Post; May 2008


home | about | gigs/news | education | repertoire | NNL records
press | links | credits | contact
site design: